T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi, im new to sublimation, ive started with mugs.
Using a mug press, set to med pressure, 170 degrees for 45 secs (ive tried more pressure, different times, 60 secs makes the black more brown)

I got a good black oblong sample:

[media]http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d19/AdrenalinTops/11992137_10204483537719693_571287924_n_zpsho2wzyeo.jpg[/media]

So went for the full print but got this, faded at the bottom and element pattern marks at the top:

[media]http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d19/AdrenalinTops/11992460_10204483538839721_1595185751_n_zpsgvbe4dlu.jpg[/media]

[media]http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d19/AdrenalinTops/11997370_10204483539279732_431843860_n_zpsfxfgnkq0.jpg[/media]

·
Registered
492 Posts
I also do some mugs , but I use 400* at 2.5 minutes in a mug press . There are a lot of things to consider
Transfer paper , Ink , time , temp , process ( how and when you remove the paper or cool the mug )
Good luck keep trying you will get it
Larry

·
Registered
1,383 Posts
We had the same issue and subbed 70 or so mugs all a little light at the top and the bottom. The next run the problem got much worse, a new heat blanket was installed and no more problems at all. :)

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I'll upload them again tomorrow with more pics of my findings.

its a brand new machine, i managed to get the black all the way to the edges, after spending 4 days testing strips on different settings, and the best for no fading at the bottom or top was 160 degrees for 230 seconds and the pressure really tight, but then it browns in the middle of the strip.

·
Registered
1,498 Posts
I'll upload them again tomorrow with more pics of my findings.