T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i've found one american company called tsdesigns, who have a printing technique called rehance, which they claim is ecologically sound, but there minimums are high and it's expensive. also, i'm in london (uk) and it would seem to be missing the point of ecological clothing if i were to have them shipped over.

i want to print white on black, with the same look and feel as discharge, but without having to use nasty chemicals. i'm also planning to use a bamboo/organic cotton mix for some.

any help would be gladly accepted.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Rodney said:
Hi Fortino, welcome to the T-Shirt Forums!

It sounds like you want water based ink screen printing :)
thanks rodney.

i dunno, i've been screenprinting with water based for the last three years and i always find the t-shirt colour shows through when printing light on dark, and it doesn't stretch with the fabric. i also think their must be a more ecological way of printing out there than water-based, which still seems hazrdous and wastes tonnes of water.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Toms Tees said:
And how is this better or worse than plastisol?
We currently use Rehance technology to print our shirts. Aside from the environmental benefits of the process, water-based inks wont crack or peel like you see with plastisol over time. Also the designs only fade with the fabric, essentialy the wear on the tee is 'uniform' over time. The designs wont fade faster than the fabric color.

·
Premium Member
27,689 Posts
How permanent is water-based ink after it is heat set?
As permanent as plastisol ink.

And how is this better or worse than plastisol?
Some would say the "hand" is better, since you can't feel the ink on the shirt. The ink actually seeps into the fabric. It also seems to stretch with the shirt well.

I think water based inks are a bit more environmentally friendly than plastisol.