T-Shirt Forums banner

dye vs. pigment which one has better results?

2466 Views 7 Replies 7 Participants Last post by  CUSTOM UK
Hi,

I've been trying to look for a definitive answer for which ink I should try. I've seen msg's where people say that pigments stay on for longer, then I've seen messages that say that dye ink will not fade in the wash depending on which transfer paper you use.

My Question is simple: If I'm using an Epson C88+ what type of ink am I better off using printing on 50/50 white t-shirts. I will be using Jetprosofstretch transfer paper and have an ACS365. Out of the two ink types, which one has in most occasions resulted in better outcomes?

I'm just getting started so I just want a general direction before I start testing out different types of transfer methods. Thanks in advance for the help!
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
Hi,

I've been trying to look for a definitive answer for which ink I should try. I've seen msg's where people say that pigments stay on for longer, then I've seen messages that say that dye ink will not fade in the wash depending on which transfer paper you use.

My Question is simple: If I'm using an Epson C88+ what type of ink am I better off using printing on 50/50 white t-shirts. I will be using Jetprosofstretch transfer paper and have an ACS365. Out of the two ink types, which one has in most occasions resulted in better outcomes?

I'm just getting started so I just want a general direction before I start testing out different types of transfer methods. Thanks in advance for the help!
I promise I'm not stalking you. :)

If you have a c88+ then you have the perfect ink already because it uses pigment ink.

I'm not familiar with the ACS365, but recently some people have experimented with dye ink and JPSS and I believe they have had good results. However, if you have a C88 I see no reason to not just use that because it's been proven.

*edit: I just realized the ACS365 is a press. *~*