T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am hearing of DTG printers being used on other natural fabric products and working well.
I want to print on yoga pants which are 70% bamboo, 22% organic cotton and 8% spandex.
Can anyone confirm for me that it is working for you. I would be using a DTG Viper

I also wanted to print on unisex sweats with a fabric blend of 50/50 cotton poly fleece.

I am new to this business so be patient but was told that on the man made fabrics the DTG's do not work well.

Thank-you for the help

·
Registered
5,275 Posts
Be careful with spandex because it burns easily. It's usually in a area not printed so it's not that big of a deal. As with all other materials you have to remember dtg uses water based inks. So anything that wicks moisture won't be a good item to print. 50/50 they make a pretreat for. We found with blends its really cost prohibitive to dtg them. It's easier to talk a customer into screen printing a few dozen rather than dtg 10 for the same total price in most cases for us. That's if they really want the blend. Otherwise stick with 100% cotton, ring spun prints and holds up the best.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Be careful with spandex because it burns easily. It's usually in a area not printed so it's not that big of a deal. As with all other materials you have to remember dtg uses water based inks. So anything that wicks moisture won't be a good item to print. 50/50 they make a pretreat for. We found with blends its really cost prohibitive to dtg them. It's easier to talk a customer into screen printing a few dozen rather than dtg 10 for the same total price in most cases for us. That's if they really want the blend. Otherwise stick with 100% cotton, ring spun prints and holds up the best.

Thanks Fatkat

will watch the spandex