T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I'm still a newbie but from the loads of research I've been doing I'm kind of getting interested in DTG. I wanted to ask if DTGs work well for 50 poly/50 cotton blends though because I've mostly read about this method with cotton. And does anyone know how well a DTG on 50/50 holds up after washes? Thanks :)

·
Registered
487 Posts
Hey guys,

I'm still a newbie but from the loads of research I've been doing I'm kind of getting interested in DTG. I wanted to ask if DTGs work well for 50 poly/50 cotton blends though because I've mostly read about this method with cotton. And does anyone know how well a DTG on 50/50 holds up after washes? Thanks :)
I think the majority of us are still "newbies" when it comes to DTG, but I think I might be able to help.
I've done several prints on 50/50, however, it's not the washing that has concerned me. I've found that the prints just aren't as vibrant. I believe it reacts much the same way that plastisol inks do with 50/50, in that, there is some "dye migration". This basically means that some of the dye in the garment tends to bleed into the inks that touch it.
Then again, my machine may have different results than other DTG machines, and users. I operate a T-Jet2.
Hope this helps...

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Ann, I did read about other people having problems with the colors not being as vibrant so it might not simply be your machine.
Thanks for the explanation :)

·
Premium Member
5,953 Posts
I too have noticed that the images are not as vibrant with 50/50. This is caused by the fact that the binders in the ink only adhere to natural fibers. So with 100% cotton you are getting 100% binding of the ink. With 50/50 only 50% of the ink is binding. That is why the prints look less vibrant, because the inks dont bind to poly.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·