T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new here and I am looking into getting in the business of making my own t-shirts. I am a avid freelance designer so I know about all the software like "Photoshop, Illustrator and etc." But what I don't know about is the equipment and such to make the shirts.

.:So what I am asking is:.
1) Do you think that Dye Sublimation would be the best way to go for a beginner like me.

2) What is the down sides of Dye Sublimation.

3) What equipment would I need to start.

I know Dye Sublimation requires a printer, heat press and knowledge of Software to make the design.

So all the help would be greatly apperciated!

·
Banned
2,512 Posts
The designing and making shirts is the easy part of the process. The challenging aspect to all of this is marketing and selling your shirts. The day of creating a web site and people come flocking to it are long gone. Instead of worrying about how to make the shirt you should focus on how to sell the shirts. There is a very good saying in Business School 101 - Sell It Then Make It.

The smartest thing to do starting out is to focus all enrgy on selling product and contract out to someone who will make the shirt for you. You will not make as much per shirt but you will not spend $1,000's upfront. Figure out how many shirts you would need to sell per month to recover your investment if you were to produce the shirts yourself. Once you start getting close to that number it is time to figure out how to create products in-house.

·
Registered
1,534 Posts
I agree with Mark. It would be better to outsource the production at the initial stage to someone who knows what they are doing :)