T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
2,957 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wondering if anybody here does any t-shirt selling that's not done on their website, but in a one-on-one setting. If so, how do you go about presenting your merchandise? Do you give them a bag or something to carry it in? What about offering discounts for buying more than one? Do you give them a card, leaflet, flyer with your website?

I don't have my site set up yet, and I have been selling shirts this way for a few months. I am hoping to be up soon, just waiting to get some more designs done, so the site won't be bare. I just wanted to see if anyone else was doing this, too, and what that was like for you. Even if you do this in addition to your website.

Feedback?

·
Registered
1,970 Posts
There's a few threads not too far down the Selling board about wholesale discount.

I'd recommend you have a brochure of all your work (as professional as you can muster), and several samples on-hand when visiting.

I've been lucky in that most of my old retailers found me (so i was in the bargaining position, as i knew they wanted my stock)

·
2,957 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
monkeylantern,
I was getting more at selling to individuals than retail, although I've done a little bit of that. But more like family, friends, friends of family, and even total strangers. People will see my friends with something on and ask where they got it, and get them in touch with me, and I will sell them something. Sometimes they may want 2 or 3. In that case I may charge a little less per shirt. Let's say the shirt is $15, a may charge them $25 for 2 shirts, instead of $30.

·
Registered
1,970 Posts
Ahhhhh..

Well, I guess family and friends would just want to see a shirt (or just you wearing one of your creations). I've had quite a few friends buy shirts off me (well, usually given one) because they saw me wearing it. Then their friends see them. Then their friends. Viral marketing.