T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone!
I'm new to all of this, but basically I have a sublimation printer and a heat press. Still trying to figure out the best t shirt stock to use.
As I am sure you are aware, I am limited to light/white t shirts.
I haven't even started selling yet, so I am wondering if its worth spending even more money and getting a vinyl cutting machine?
Thanks in advance :)

·
Registered
1,453 Posts
When using sublimation you are also limited to shirts with a high polyester content, preferably 100%, for best results. Prints on poly/cotton shirts will be faded after one wash as the sublimation inks wash straight off the cotton fibres. Also, any white areas in your images will show as the colour of the shirt when printed due to sub inks being translucent. This will affect other colours too, for instance, blue on a yellow shirt will appear as green.

A cutter will allow you to use HTV (Heat Transfer Vinyl) and heat transfers. Heat transfers usually require a pigment printer for prints that won't fade or wash out easily. The best heat transfer papers for lights are Neenah JetPro SofStretch, and for darks, Neenah Jet-Opaque.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
When using sublimation you are also limited to shirts with a high polyester content, preferably 100%, for best results. Prints on poly/cotton shirts will be faded after one wash as the sublimation inks wash straight off the cotton fibres. Also, any white areas in your images will show as the colour of the shirt when printed due to sub inks being translucent. This will affect other colours too, for instance, blue on a yellow shirt will appear as green.