T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a screen printer looking to buy an embroidery machine and I wasn't quite sure how difficult digitizing is going to be. I am pretty good with designing logos in illustrator and I was sure if I would have to outsource all of my digitizing or not. Any help is greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Digitizing for embroidery- and graphic design for tshirts- are two entirely different creatures. They require different types of programs with different functionality.

It is also not something you learn to do overnight. You don't sit down, digitize, and embroider---just like that. At least not producing anything of any quality.

My advice---you will want to either buy your designs while you learn or outsource the digitizing for custom designs. I've been embroidering for almost 2 years and only paid for digitizing 6 designs, and my personal library consists of over 3500 designs now. I outsourced because I wanted 6 VERY specific designs.

Good luck with whatever you decide to do.
:rolleyes:

·
Registered
84 Posts
If you are using a PC, corel has a program that works with corelDraw. Basically you copy paste into in and it digitizes it for you and you adjust density, stitch type ect. Its really easy and works well for a lot of designs. If you send out a design to have it digitized it only cost you about $15, and that still less than you pay for one screen.

·
Registered
96 Posts
Corel along with other inexpensive digitizing software are an Auto-Digitizing Program. Unless you have experience digitizing IMO these programs will hurt you more than they will help you. I use Corel DraWings X3 Pro and Pulse DG ML daily, with my knowledge I can use the Corel and manipulate it to sew out the way that I want the design to, I learned this over the course of a year. Without a good knowledge of the Pulse and how to properly digitize the Corel would be very very inferior and poor in quality.