T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

· Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I'm not really a newbie but I am mainly an embroiderer and owner of a shop that also does screen printing and heat transfers. I want to know what the best process is for the following scenarios. My screen printer claims that digital heat transfers only last about 5 washings but I know that is not necessarily true. For small runs 1-11 shirts-best method, paper, ink, etc,
Light 100% cotton
Dark 100% cotton
Light 100% polyester
Dark 100% polyester
Also blends?

We tried to heat press transfers on to poly aprons and they came off with 1 washing. Maybe they had some type of coating that needed to be washed off first?

We are not set up for sublimation although would consider it if not too expensive. I know we have a cutter of some type so I think vinyl is an option. We do have 2 commercial heat presses. Opinions?

· Registered
8 Posts
Honestly your most durable option would be vinyl. Something like a Premium Plus from Stahl's or Siser Easy weed are nice materials that are quite thin and easy to work with. It's what I use for quick shirt runs since I sold off my screen printing gear.

· Registered
4,816 Posts
I highly recommend 2 step Self weeding Imageclip Laser Light for multi color artwork. It works with pastel without polymer background. It works on 100% cotton, cotton blend and polyester. I have not tried other materials so I can't say whether it works or not.

The shirt was pressed with Imageclip Laser Light. It had been washed once in this photo. I pressed 3 shirts of the same image. All 3 had been washed 5 times with very little degradation. Click the image to view larger image.

[Media]http://www.t-shirtforums.com/attachments/78417d1395775036-heat-transfer-has-white-showing-through-when-stretched-imageclip-after-wash.jpg[/media]

For dark shirts use vinyl if the artwork is 1 or 2 spot colors if layered. Vinyl comes in Glitter which is very nice on dark shirts.