T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry in advance as I am a newbie here.

Browsing through several T-shirt companies online I noticed several site sell either the same or similar designs and a lot of material comes from movies or TV shows etc. For Example the Speaker City T from the movie Old School. So I am wondering, do you have to acquire licenses to sell T's that are based on ideas from movies or TV etc?

If I wanted to create a design with a Chuck Norris joke on it (which I would never ever do) Is it cool to just go ahead and do it?

·
Premium Member
10,512 Posts
You would need to negotiate a license with the owner of the intellectual property in question. There are so many variants out there because some designers don't bother - the result of which is sometimes their financial ruin, or success, depending on (un)lucky they are.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So to what extent are t-shirt designs copyrighted? Can you possibly give me an example of a company who has done things the right way, and/ the wrong way? Thanks a lot for the quick reply,
Cheers

·
Premium Member
10,512 Posts
So to what extent are t-shirt designs copyrighted?
The same extent as other graphics / illustrations / etc.

Can you possibly give me an example of a company who has done things the right way,
I believe 80stees.com is official and above board.

and/ the wrong way?
I know of one successful shop that I don't believe is licensed (they weren't when they started, so I doubt they are now), but 1) I wouldn't want to accuse them of that in case I'm wrong (which I doubt), and 2) I wouldn't want to do anything to help them get sales. I've seen them covered by major t-shirt press though - most of them just don't give a **** if t-shirt labels rip-off major companies, it's only when it happens the other way around they get involved.