T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all, I have a question on adobe photoshop. I am an artist, and do alot of my own designs, scan them and clean them up on photoshop. is the a trick or tool to out line the design (sketch) and clean the design up with smooth crisp lines?? Like tracing over. I have been doing it all by hand with the pencile tool or bush, even tried posterizing it. any help would be great thanks scott

·
Registered
119 Posts
The pen tool will give you a vector path. Or if you something quick you could use the color selection tool and then select > modify > smooth

Or various other techniques. Another approach is to draw with a sharpie and then auto trace in illustrator.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Here's what I do.

1. Scan your drawing and put into ps.
2. select with the eyedropper tool the color of your sketch
3. Under the menu hit select> color range >sampled color
4. Hit inverse under the select menu and hit delete.
Now you should only have the sketch, the background should be completely gone (this works better then magic wand)
5. The sketch may not be dark/clear enough so go over to the layer menu, and duplicate the layer a few times (ctrl+ J) Then you can merge the layers (Ctrl+Shift+E)
6. If you still need the sketch to be darker then you can either go to Filters >Sharpen > Sharpen, or try changing the darkness (ctrl + U)

Once you have it how you want it, put the sketch into Illustrator, live trace and start coloring!

Hope this helps!

·
Registered
130 Posts
For the cleanest possible look I would suggest learning to use the pen tool. Getting a Wacom Tablet would be good too.

·
Registered
142 Posts
For the cleanest possible look I would suggest learning to use the pen tool. Getting a Wacom Tablet would be good too.