T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi there,
i'm new to the t-shirt forum. i have a company called G9Girl - we're a 'girl-power' apparel company for tween girls (ages 8-14). you can see some of our t-shirt designs here:
http://www.g9girl.com/tops.html
we have a new set of designs (in the vintage section) that we've been printing out on professional transjet transfer paper and heat pressing ourselves on to our shirts. HOWEVER, because each design is a unique shape, it takes FOREVER to cut this shape out (and we don't want all that extra transfer paper gunk on the shirt). does anyone know how to deal with this problem?? we would really like to continue printing our designs ourselves, as this way we don't have to do high volume.

the designs off the transjet are nice in that the color of the shirt shows through, giving it a "faded" or more vintage look. is there any process we can use where we can achieve this look but only the ink gets transferred, not the entire piece of paper? (aside from screenprinting, which we'd rather not do) or is there some machine that will cut out our shape for us? what is the process that places like ace transfer or first edition are using when they make their custom transfers such that only the ink is transferring, not the paper? is this something we could do ourselves?

thanks very much for ANY info.
tien-yi

·
Registered
79 Posts
Hello Tien-yi,

I have been imprinting for over 7 years now and unfortunately, manually cutting out transfers is the only way I know of. We do mostly custom work and try to get the images/graphics about the same shap and sizes. I find I can move quickly once I get going. If you find another way, let me know. But I bet you won't find anything as "cheap" as your own manual labour.

Good Luck

·
Registered
402 Posts