T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to the biz and I'm running into problems with curing (amongst other things.) I did a wash test and realized that almost half of the ink from the design was flaking off.

The design was in black ink on a grey organic cotton shirt.

I did only one print, then cured with my heat gun, holding it over each area 4-5 inches and for 20 seconds, continuously moving over the area.

I'm using International Coatings plastisol black ink and a Wagner 1200 watt heat gun. I'm wondering if anyone has a better idea about how long I should be curing each area for.

I don't have money for a flash dryer or conveyor dryer. Eventually, I will definatly get both but for now, I will have to make the heat gun work.

I'm also thinking about flashing it and then putting it in my conventional oven for 45 seconds or so but I didn't know if that works or what temperature to set the oven to. Any ideas or advice is helpful.

·
Registered
17 Posts
T-shirt ink cures when it reaches 320 degrees for at least one minute, another method you could try is wax paper and an iron, that used to work for me back in the 80's - just remember 320 for 1 minute at least.

·
Registered
557 Posts
I'll second the iron as a cheap set, works a treat... as above 320 for 1 minute (or if using waterbased check the container, my waterbase are 40 sec @ 300)

·
Registered
77 Posts