T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been pressing shirts for about 2 months now, and things are moving along pretty good. As my shirts are becoming popular I am getting more business, and I'm trying to speed up my process.

What is slowing me down most is measuring and aligning my transfer paper images to be sure they are not crooked or uneven before I press it on the shirt. I am using an 11X15 press and most of my shirts are 2XL and larger. I have to lay my shirts on a table, lay the image on the shirt use a tape measurer to make sure it is even form sleeve to sleeve and then I use tiny stickers to mark the four corners of the image. I then take the shirt over to the press lay down the image in the pre marked spot, remove the stickers and then press. I know this seems tedious, but before I started doing this, many of my shirts were coming out crooked. I admit I am meticulous, but one of the reasons my shirts are getting so much attention is because there are so many poorly made shirts on the streets, people take more notice to the quality of mine. When business starts really booming I can buy a 16X20 press, Maybe then I could just do it by eye ball it.

Does anybody have any suggestions. How do most people keep their images from being pressed crooked.

·
Registered
5,047 Posts
youll get the hang of it soon. no pun intended :)
essentially youll be able to just eyeball it.If your spending tons of time measuring each one for placement youll need to charge more. Go to a t-shirt stor and look at a group of shirts with the same design. study them. youll notice lots of mistakes. as long as your pretty darn close you should be good to go. Keep practicing, the more you do the better and faster youll get.

·
Registered
302 Posts
Good question and it's nice to see that you are concerned with quality.