T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I have a hand drawn portrait from a tattoo artist thats wants to put it on shirts. The drawing is pencil and has shading in the face. How do I make that into something I can screen print? I am really new at all of this. And I have really only done one color all ready vectorized art! Can anyone out there help me?
Thanks!

·
Registered
138 Posts
I hand draw and trace images into Inkscape (free) all the time using the tracing fuction. It's not always perfect, but it converts the image into a vector format that I can manipulate using Inkscape. The cleaner the image is, the better it comes out following the trace. I can then further edit the resulting image using GIMP (also free).

I think other commercial products similar to Inkscape can do the same thing.

·
Registered
138 Posts
I probably should have mentioned that its pretty easy using Inkscape. I scan the image, import it into Inkscape, and trace it using the tracing function. It's all pretty intuitive to use.

·
Registered
114 Posts