T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys,

What are some good strategies for getting into contract printing?

I'm just starting out in my area, I actually have a meeting with my local hispanic chamber of commerce this weekend to get involved with them for some business contacts.

What are some other ways I can get the contract ball rolling?

Thanks in advance,

Mike

·
Registered
675 Posts
You'll need a price list that outlines your print charges, as well as setup charges. Also, samples of your work would be handy to have as you go from business to business. As previous poster stated, ad speciality distributors, trophy shops, and embroiders (that don't already do screen-printing) would be good customers to call on. Go see them in person, show off your samples, and leave a price list & card.
One thing you MUST do is make sure you meet or exceed your customers "in hand" date. Don't take any job that you feel you can't make a deadline. Understand that your customer is depending on you to deliver on time, so that they don't look bad to their customer. If you miss a deadline, you'll probably loose that contract customer forever. Also, make sure your qualtity is top notch; once again, your contract customer is depending on YOU to make them look good. Do those 2 requirements constantly, and you'll have plenty of repeat biz.

·
Registered
2,628 Posts
When contacting other decorators connect with those who are outside your immediate area so they are less likely to feel that you might "steal" their customer. Teach those who are aren't familiar with screen printing how to price jobs and what file format and job information you need. Recommend an artist if you can. Offer drop shipping and shipping services.

·
Registered
2,628 Posts