T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

Basically a question as to which is the easiest way to remove a backround in Photoshop, do i use background eraser tool, magnetic lasso,pen tool or are there any others ?( i've 30 day trial version ). Also, how do i then place the image onto the t-shirt template so that i can send to the web men? ( very basic i'm sure,but i am a very basic complete novice)

One final question, is Paint shop pro a better bet for the novice ? I'm picking things up with tutorials etc just thought i'd use the forum to ask the experts

Many thanks
BigNumpt

·
Registered
34 Posts
BIGNUMPT said:
Hello all,

Basically a question as to which is the easiest way to remove a backround in Photoshop, do i use background eraser tool, magnetic lasso,pen tool or are there any others ?( i've 30 day trial version ). Also, how do i then place the image onto the t-shirt template so that i can send to the web men? ( very basic i'm sure,but i am a very basic complete novice)

One final question, is Paint shop pro a better bet for the novice ? I'm picking things up with tutorials etc just thought i'd use the forum to ask the experts

Many thanks
BigNumpt
Ah, the golden PS question "how do you remove the background". :)

PS is a huge program and there are often many different ways to do the same task. Like maoboyblue asked, if would help greatly if we could see the image first. But here are some of the standard ways:

Pen tool - Learn it and love it. It's a bit tricky to learn, but once you know it your work will improve greatly.
Brush - Paint the background away with the brush tool while in mask mode.
Magic Wand - Lazy man tool, that sometimes works fine.
Extract Filter - I think it's only in PS CS2, but it does a GREAT job on many complex images.

Remember to work in mask mode instead of regular mode, so you are free to make mistakes without ruining your image.