T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am not a designer or a printer. i just often get asked to make tshirts for people.

so, when i finish with my design, who should take care of the color separations? me? or the printer?

i have only done a few designs with my current printer, but the last design, he asked me to do the color separations.

i would think this was something he would do?

what do you all think?

·
Registered
192 Posts
A good printer will want to do his own seperations, so that he can make sure it is done right the first time. A mediocre printer will want someone else to do it because he either doesn't know how to do it correctly, or he doesn't care enough about the quality of the product he puts out.

I personally can't see me ever asking someone that says they are neither a printer or a designer to do seperations for me.

·
Registered
192 Posts
I also should add that if you are not a printer, nor a designer, it maybe that you don't know how to properly build designs for easy seperations, and therefore he has no idea how to seperate your work. You would be amazed at some of the stuff people bring in to t-shirt shop and claim as artwork.

·
Registered
285 Posts
want me to send you my file and you can tell me if it is proper "artwork" or not?
Just post a picture of it. We can tell you if it's good enough to be separated by even a semi-decent printer.

A lot of printers outsource their separations and screen burning since they don't have the capabilities or know-how to output their own films and shoot their own screens. This doesn't make them any less capable as a screen printer when it comes to printing the actual shirts but it does limit them on what artwork they can accept since they may be charged more for shoddy artwork.

·
Registered
192 Posts