T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, please don't laugh, but I am trying out screen printing for the first time after doing Dye Sub for a little while now. I am starting out with Speedball just because it's my first go and wanted to start at the bottom before I get into quality inks. I am curious if there are any formulas out there for color mixing these inks. I got the opaque Fabric Ink Starter Kit so what I have is Silver, Citrine (yellow), Rasberry, Black Pearl, Blue Topaz and White Pearl. I've been googling all morning but I can't seem to find anything. Experimentation is cool, I just was hoping to have a guide so as to waste as little ink as possible. Thanks for any tips. I am a real newb who needs any help he can get. pretty excited to try this out though. I am really psyched to try mixing Dye sub designs with screen printing for outlining and filling areas of a dye sub'd design to give a mix of textures. At least, I think it will be awesome. We'll see. And thanks!

·
Registered
197 Posts
Expert Advice: "Don't offer, or try, color matching to your customers. Show them ONLY the standard, stock, out of the can colors. Don't give them options."

Trust me, you will thank me for that advice one day :)

The Speedball kit is not a "color matching" kit. It is just basic colors that you should print straight out. Once you get established and experienced, then you can mess with mixing colors.

Eventualy work into regular color matching "systems" like the Matsui 301 Eco-Series. They have a color formulation tool that gives you formulas to match most of the PMS colors.

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·