T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello all, i've been printing for four years and lurking this forum for a while.. finally decided to stop being lazy and join :). I have a job coming up for a customer who needs a color gradient in the t-shirts. I've expiremented with mixing different color inks on my screens.. but it just doesn't look right.. any suggestions as to what i should be doing? :confused: please help me out!

and example would be like this.. the color fading from red to yellow to green..
http://www.ubiqlife.com/blog/images/ubiq_stussy_tee02.jpg

·
Registered
65 Posts
You don't mix the inks on the screen. You use halftone dots on each individual color to create the blend. I don't know what program you are using. In corel you just use your interactive blend tool making sure you are blending between two or more spot colors and not cmyk colors. Then when you separate your colors make sure you adjust your halftone dot settings they vary depending on the mesh count of your screen. but the three settings are frequency which is usually between 40 to 60 and your angle which is usually between 25 to 65 and your dot shape which is usually eliptical. I would experiment until you find a setting that produces a smooth gradient with no moire pattern and smooth transitions between colors. The settings i use for intermediate mesh count screens are 45 frequency and 25 angle. Here is a little flame with a red to yellow gradient. I created with the interactive blend tool.

Attachments

·
Registered
175 Posts