T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Hi all,
I'm a newbie here. I have started an "urban wear" clothing line and want to start out with t-shirts with my logo(name&picture) on them. Kind of like how you would see a Baby Phat or Fubu T-shirt with the name printed on them in different styles and colors. The logo and name have both been trademarked here in indy but not federally. My questions are:
1. I plan to start out with 4 different t-shirts"styles". I am going to have the logo (pic&name) printed in 4 styles differently on each shirt, ie. always same pic but with different colors, different font types for the name and different arrangements on the shirts. Will I have to trademark the other 3 even though these will just be different designs of the main logo?
2. I am wanting to find a supplier that sells t-shirts with NO tags so that I may insert my own tags, any suggestions? Mainly someone with quality BLANK women's T's? AA has never responded nor sent the catalog that I ordered and paid for.
Also do I need a federal ID# to order from these larger suppliers?
3. Is it necessary to have my clothing line name and logo copywritten???

If someone could please help I'd greatly appreciate it.
Thanks Kellie

·
2,957 Posts
What’s up?! Welcome to the forums.:)

First, I wouldn’t worry “too much” about the trademark stuff at this stage. But to answer your question, you can use your name and picture in any style you wish because it is YOUR name and YOUR pic. Each design of it is copyrighted the instant you create it. If you would like to register the copyright, you can do that at the government’s copyright website for about $30 per design.

www.copyright.gov