T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
284 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been doing vinyl for about 3 months, but have been very interested in sublimation. Which printer do you like the best epson 1100, ricoh 3300, ricoh 7000. And if possible can someone tell me a few pros and cons to the printers? Thanks everyone for any info...

·
Registered
284 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Man I was so sold on the Ricoh from looking at the Conde site, but seem like I'll be going with the Epson.

So can anyone recommend where to get my ink and what kind(of course I know dye sub ink)..I've seen sublijet and other types..Also is it best to get a ciss

·
Banned
2,512 Posts
Man I was so sold on the Ricoh from looking at the Conde site, but seem like I'll be going with the Epson.

So can anyone recommend where to get my ink and what kind(of course I know dye sub ink)..I've seen sublijet and other types..Also is it best to get a ciss
If you are new to sublimation you need to bite the bullet at the beginning and select a vendor who will hold your hand during the learning phase. Sublimation is half art and half science. You need a company that will match a printer, paper, ink, profile to the things you want to create. Johnson Plastics and Conde both post a lot on this forum.

I would also start by selecting a system with the least number of things that can go wrong so you eliminate some of the common headaches. I would buy the expensive cartrdiges for your first attempt and if it something you really want to do look into a CIS. CIS can be a nightmare. In many case you will waste more ink trying to print than you do on products.

There are enough issues learning dye sub without extra headaches.

·
Registered
6,428 Posts