T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am very interested in starting a small business doing dye sub producing custom t-shirts other accessories for the paintball world as well as other local sports teams

I am starting to get a good handle on the pros and cons of dye sub so my question is really one that is more to the meat of the matter, which of these 2 printers is likely to be more suitable for me and give me the most during my startup

The initial cost of the c88 is obviously much lower but then u must get cartridges (low yield) or a bulk system (high price) and then on top of that theres the concern of the heads I used to be a business machines consultant and epson heads were always a headache for me constantly having to instruct or clean heads for people

The ricoh is obviously a much higher investment but thats all i know about them is there printing costs higher or lower than a c88 (cart and bulk system) do they also suffer from head issues ?

I will likely run the printer weekly but not daily when it is run it will likely be for a large run compared to hobby standards but small in the grand scheme of things

SO which of these do you feel is the best bang for the buck for someone just starting out

Side note how are those ebay heat presses for a guy starting out cheap looking to upgrade if and when i make some coin

·
Registered
2,497 Posts
While I can only give you my opinion, as someone who has gone the Epson route in Dye-Sub before, if I was doing it today I'd buy the Ricoh, I really think it's a better system then refillable carts or a CIS system, there are a lot of folks here on TSF that are using the Ricoh with very little problems.

BTW - Dealers are not allowed to post prices in the open forum, only via PM.

JMHO

·
Registered
8,082 Posts
unfortunately I don't think dealers can self promote and post all pricing...you need to go to their site.