T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm endeavoring, like many others :), to enter into the t-shirt foray as well. Designing/Selling artistic t-shirts. The problem is, I have no background in business, and right now, I sense that I need some structure. A friend of mine, recommended a business plan.

Do any of you guys have a formal business plan?
Can you recommend a good starting plan or guide for me to go by?

I believe I am very talented, and creative, however; I know my weaknesses according to business, planning, and structure.

ANy help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
249 Posts
I didn't use a business plan for my t-shirt business. However, I did for another business I will own in 2006. I found a pretty solid structure of one online and modified to meet my needs. It's good to have everything out on paper in front of you. I am thinking about going back and writing one for Dick Tees even though we are almost a year into a successful online venture.

·
Registered
42 Posts
From my understanding a business plan is always helpful but not necessary if you are planning to grow naturally without debt or outside investors. However, I will recommend two fantastic business books that will help a lot concerning structure and business processes.

1) The E-Myth Revisited, by Michael Gerber
2)Lucky or Smart, by Bo Peabody

The first is much more helpful with structure and business processes.
The second is more inspirational when it comes to starting businesses.

Best of luck. Layla

·
Premium Member
27,690 Posts
I think it depends on the type of person you are. Some people work well from a structured document like a business plan and some can get help just from the process of creating one (getting them to think about things they didn't realize were part of the business).