T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
i am new to screen printing and have been enjoying it very much. Ive been researching a lot, planning to start a brand very soon, but would really appreciate your direct input on this. I have most of the necessary equipment, and would like to maximize my quality. I have just been testing out my equipment getting everything figured out. I am printing on a basic 4 screen 1 pallet press, doing 1,2, and 3 color designs. Ive been using green galaxy water based ink along with the low cure additive. I have a heat gun and a ir contactless thermometer i use to cure, but i plan to start printing shirts at a higher rate, and would like a more efficient/easy way to cure each shirt. My current price range is around $200, give or take a little. I know the best option would be an ir flash dryer, or a conveyor dryer, but thats currently out my price range. So, my question is, will a inexpensive generic 18x18 or 18x24 flash dryer from ebay be sufficient to curing this ink well enough? is there a better option for me like a heat press or something? or should i just hold off and cure this first run of 100 or so shirts with a heat gun (don't really want to do).
Thank you for any responses. Have a good day.

·
Registered
4,176 Posts
My first prints where discharge and I cured with a heat gun. That works okay since you can actually see discharge ink cure. I now print with regular water base inks and cure with a heat press. Without the visible cue of curing discharge ink, I can't imagine using a heat to cure ... far too easy to scorch or under cure. You probably need to double your budget.

·
Registered
26 Posts