T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am new to all of this and I am trying to set up a business to fulfill a need I see for banners in motorcycle racing.

What would you recommend in equipment for this? The banners would be 24" by 10' and vinyl.

Would it be best to get a cutter, buy the banners blank and use heat transfer vinyl to stick to the vinyl?

I have about 1k to work with to start. I was looking at something comparable to the gx-24. Maybe a US cutter?

How does it work - I have searched alot but Im not sure if I can create the design (layered by color) in photoshop or flexi then just cut it and lay it out. Does vinyl also come in sefl adhesive that would be better than risking using heat on heat -sensitive banner material?

What features will the cutter have to be able to read and cut from a print? And what printer will print onto vinyl??

Sorry about all the questions. I have been searching alot lately but I'm still a bit confused.

·
Registered
1,262 Posts
You would be wanting sign vinyl (a lot cheaper than heat transfer vinyl, and pressure sensitive adhesive). Oracal 651 is one of the most common recommended types for general purpose applications. You would have to layer it based on how many colors are in the design.

To print on vinyl you need a solvent printer as well as a solvent acceptable vinyl (Oracal 3164 for example). The printer costs well over your budget though, and when you're at that point, it's best to just buy solvent printable banner material and eliminate vinyl from the equation.

Here's a list of some Vinyl and banner suppliers:
The World's Largest Wrap Supply Company - Fellers - Wide variety, carries a lot of the higher end stuff
Ordway Sign Supply - The Complete Source for Today's SignMaker. - Carries a variety of the commonly used items, tools, and banners. Easy online ordering and free shipping!