T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
984 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello everyone. i am about to start screen printing on a homemade press and was wondering on using a 200 or a 230 mesh for my standard spot color jobs and simulated jobs. i read in the forums that using lower mesh counts will have a thicker deposit of ink and since i am going to use plastisol inks i read here that you should use 200 mesh count and above to achieve a softer hand.

my question is that in your opinion which is the much better mesh count to use between the two for the said jobs? ill be basically printing almost all my jobs with either of them once i have decided which to buy. i am only a beginner and every help would be greatly appreciated. tnx alot.

· Registered
1,232 Posts
The higher the mesh count, the finer detail the screen will hold. The softer hand bit is right on. You will find that most people on manual presses us 158 for everything except the finer detail. A soft hand is ideal, but good coverage is also important. I may use anything from 110 to 230 depending of the requirements of the job. You will just have to print to find what works for you. God Bless.

· Registered
984 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The higher the mesh count, the finer detail the screen will hold. The softer hand bit is right on. You will find that most people on manual presses us 158 for everything except the finer detail. A soft hand is ideal, but good coverage is also important. I may use anything from 110 to 230 depending of the requirements of the job. You will just have to print to find what works for you. God Bless.

so is it ok to start with
4 110 mesh
6 156 mesh
8 305 mesh

and for you what would you prefer a 200 or a 230 mesh?
tnx alot sir for the input.

· Registered
28 Posts