T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

· Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've recently been asked if I could print 1 t shirt and 1 hoodie for a co worker of a friend. He says he attempted to get the shirts done through an online site and the image was turned down because of copyright. The image is a just a "sketch" of a soldier. I'm wondering if I could in any way get in trouble for this. Like I said, it's 1 hoodie and 1 shirt. It's really just a favor for a friend and maybe he'd throw me few bucks for labor. I'm just new in the business and don't want to risk anything if theres any potential for legal issues. Any feedback on this would be great. Thanks :)

· Registered
2,007 Posts
Well if it's a copyright issue for one, I would think it's a copyright issue for another. None of us on the forum are legal representatives. If you want true legal advice you should consult an IP attorney. Question you need to ask yourself is "Worst case scenario can I afford to fight a legal battle and am I ok with losing my business and/or losing a ton of money and still remain in business if I lose the case?".

· Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for the replies guys. I can see where you all are going with this lol. I have no issues turning it down... it is not worth risking the business and never will be. Honestly, I had always thought that the money was the issue, like if I did this shirt for zero dollars and it wasn't for distribution but for personal use, it would be okay (forgive me if i sound like an idiot). Another example would be one of my buddies birthdays is coming up and I considered making him a t shirt with an image of his favorite actor on it... would that also be wrong? Either way i'm not looking for trouble and I do respect others property so this is an easy decision, but it is a little dissappointing if I can't even make some cool stuff for myself. Thanks again.

· Registered
239 Posts