T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
314 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
the site 99designs is really nice. just heard of it a week or so ago and wondering if there are other sites like it.

{for those unfimiliar with this site: basically, designs are requested by people in the form of a contest. the design that wins gets the prize (cash)}

·
Premium Member
5,953 Posts
There are a couple different design sites. another one like 99 designs is designoutpost.com, then there is also guru.com which people bid for your job. Hope this helps :)

·
Registered
75 Posts
I havent seen other sites like 99designs but I have seen sites like shirtwoot, design by humans, and threadless, design submit and win some cash.

·
Administrator
14,201 Posts

·
Registered
1,358 Posts

·
Registered
612 Posts
I completely agree with Unik. Its almost like having 5 different companies print your shirt, and only paying for the one you think did the best job. And I am not really a designer, just my opinion on the whole "crowd sourcing" phenominon.

·
Administrator
14,201 Posts
I'm neutral to the issue either way. On the one hand, I understand the truly professional artists trying to maintain their business relationships & income stream. On the other hand, the contests do create a tremendous amount of exposure for the artists, even those who don't win the contest. I've hired artists directly whose work I liked from these sites, even though they may not have won that particular contest.

The internet has changed the game for everyone and everything. Resistance is futile. Adapt or perish.

·
Registered
508 Posts
creativeallies.com very similar and while I don't like contests like this either, I have sent a couple things in to get a feeling? Seems like we did something similar here recently?
dlac

·
Registered
45 Posts
There is a difference between participating in a contest like Threadless or the T-Shirt Forums contest than these spec-design mills like 99designs.