T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I wish to start my own clothing line. I have a name for it and have a million designs running around in my head. There's one huge problem though, I CAN'T DRAW WORTH A LICK. My mother is a superb artist, like the female version of Picasso, but no talent at all was passed on to me. So any budding clothing line owners have this problem??? When you hired a graphic designer, was he or she able to accurately transform the design in your head into a tangible reality? And how was the finacial side worked out? Did you pay one flat fee or what? Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

· Registered
21 Posts
Why don't you hire your mother?

There are a million places to find an eager designer to hire. But before you do, I'd trim down the millions of ideas in your head to 2 or 3 or you'll spend all your money with the designer. I'm a designer who charges $35 an hour, and that's comparatively inexpensive, so just be careful that you're not spending hours and hours tweaking your design.

· Registered
97 Posts
I have the same problem! Everything is done. From the financing to the shipping. I can't sleep because of the millions of designs bursting in to my head every minute. All my design are made with paint and cooltext.com (free fonts!) but I don't know how to make it have that professional touch. I'm trying to contact my Dad's friend for graphic design help.

Any tips before I hire someone?

· Registered
21 Posts
The old adages apply; if it seems too good to be true, it probably is and you get what you pay for (for the most part). My best advice is to be aware of your gut reaction when working with a designer. If you don't feel comfortable, it's probably not a good idea. But if you hit it off well, then that's half the battle.

· Registered
20 Posts