T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am trying to print a two color design, one base color and then the details of the design on top. I have two different screens to do this because of the color separation that I need, but I am having a hard time lining everything up perfectly. Right now I am just starting off, and I'm just using the screens (I plan on building the 4 color manual press from the free plans on found on this forum soon!) on my kitchen table. Does anyone have any tips or tricks of the trade that I could use to get everything lined up nicely? Eyeballing isn't working as well as I'd like (I am a perfectionist)

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I try to keep the screens from moving by holding them down with my free hand...not very scientific, I know, but like I said, I'm just starting out, and I don't have much equipment

·
Registered
414 Posts
I try to keep the screens from moving by holding them down with my free hand...not very scientific, I know, but like I said, I'm just starting out, and I don't have much equipment
HMMM it may be a bit hard to get perfect registartion if you dont have anything holding the screen down good. The shirt might move and the screen might move as well.

·
Registered
274 Posts
If I'm doing more than one color, I use a combination of registration marks and pre-exposure registration. I try to make sure that my positives are as close to registered in the screens as I can get them before I expose them - I know some people use a grid system, but usually I just use a T-square and measure the distance from each side and use that for each positive. After they are exposed, use the registration marks to line them up, but make sure you tape off the reg marks before printing. Without a 4-or-more color press, I think those are the best you can do.