T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been told it’s very difficult doing plates. I have had requests for them, so I’m thinking of investing in a heat press to do so. If you have experience please give me some information. Thanks

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for your reply. Do you heat the plate up before you press a design on to them? I looked at your web site very nice.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Nope you heat the puck, I think for 15 minutes, don't have my instructions in front of me right now. Then press the picture to the plate. I have to use waterslips for the wording on the plate lip, and I explain this to the customer, that this makes the plate decorative only, but they don't care.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
You have instructions? I have heard nothing but horror stories on doing plates, and how hard they are to do. I make my living as an artist but I sell most of my work in the Aspen, Vail area. It's hard for me to get up there right now. I have been only doing tiles, they are easy. Going to start doing mugs, t-shirts ect. I have been looking at getting the mug plus pro from Nova chrome usa. They have an attachment plate press that I could buy. I already have a flat heat press couldn't I just get a Plate Puck Package to use with it? Any info would be very helpful. Thank you Tom

·
Registered
8,082 Posts
I do plates, but I have a plate press that will do a 6 inch image..big enough for most plates...print time image, put in on the plate and press..only tricky thing at first is to get the pressure right before you apply too much and break the plate...one you have that down, it is as simple as doing a normal dye sub press

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thanks for the advise Charles. I think I'm going to buy a puck for my heatpress. Then I guess it will be trial and error tell I get it right. tom

·
Registered
8,082 Posts