T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I'm a college student...marketing major, professor hit us with this project on research on American Apparel. I personally have not heard that much about it since its rather new. However, I have created a survey based on what they are about. Hope you guys can answer a few questions..its a short survey, your responses are greatly appreciated. And you guys can also post here what you think and what kinda t-shirts you prefer. Im not doing it for any money, just a good grade

Here's the link:

http://www.questionpro.com/akira/TakeSurvey?id=301445

Katie

·
Registered
1,970 Posts
Done.

One important fact about AA is that, as nice as they are, they are sneaky when it comes to marketing.

"Sweatshop-free" is essentially a meaningless label in any Western country: to be legally running, you *will* be "sweatshop-free". This doesn't mean that the workers there aren't on $6/hour, and shipped in from poor neighbourhoods 3 hours away on buses though.

Of course it's sweatshop-free...it's working in a Western state. Does that mean it has good work conditions in line with Western standards? I don't know. The label only means something in the Second World, where the difference between legal working practices and those which contravene UN directives is enormous.

Being sweatshop-free does not mean its workers aren't below the poverty line. It just means it pays on or above minimum wage....which it has to....and has legal working hours.....which it has to.....this is not something to be proud about.

·
Premium Member
10,512 Posts
Screamiv said:
I'm a college student...marketing major, professor hit us with this project on research on American Apparel. I personally have not heard that much about it since its rather new.
They're really not that new...

Sure, they're no Rockefeller, but they've had long enough to thoroughly establish themselves and become well known.

Screamiv said: