T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Everyone,

I am just getting into the business and I have a potential problem.

I currently work for a company that is in the business of making copies (won't say who exactly, but they are nationally known as the famous copy store).

anyway, my boss found out that i am starting a t-shirt company and he said that i need to stop because it is a "Conflict of Interest."

The copy company i work for does make custom t-shirts for people, but i am not selling custom shirts... i am selling specific designs that i have created outside of work.

he's not a lawyer, and neither am i, but i believe that there would only be a conflict of interest if i were selling custom t-shirts. i used the analogy that it's like saying that i wouldn't be able to have another part-time job at the Gap, because they sell shirts to... but obviously Gap is not a competitor with this famous copy shop.

i emailed one of the human resource people in the company and he said there MIGHT be a conflict of interest, but due to the fact that i am not customizing shirts, that it's a grey area.

i told my boss that i will not produce any shirts at the store, or take customers away. i have all my own equipment. the copy shop uses transfers made by Xerox and fed through a laser printer. I will be using plastisol transfers... so even the product is not the same.

i'm not sure if my boss is out to get me or anything, but i feel like he's just getting on my case for no good reason.

i'm probably going to quit that copy shop anyway, because i don't like the way they treat their employees, but until i find another job, or the t shirt business takes off, i need to get a pay check from them.

i would really appreciate any help/advise out there. it seems to me that there are a lot of knowledgable people here in the forums.

let me know what you think, or who i can ask about this.

Thanks!

Andrew

·
Registered
1,555 Posts