T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
maybe a silly question, but hey, i'm a noob. anyway... hi all. using paint mask to ensure no overspray and clean lines. can one use an airbrush to get a screen printed effect and not the usual "airbrushed look." i'm buying an airbrush to use with vinyl and wondered if i could also do a few shirts with it as well. but i want them to look clean, close to what the screen would do.:D thank you in advance and hope everyone is having a great holiday weekend.

·
Registered
3,838 Posts
:pSorry, I did not see this untill now,

I have not airbrushed thru a screen for a few years ,but I burned my screen, or mask it off with vinyl,, for tight lines i like to burn them,,
When i airbrushed thru it , it was to get a soft look almost vintage,, depending on how much spray you do,
This is possible and gives a pretty awesome look, you can also spray thur fishnet nylons and bridal veiling for a few different effects as well as lace, too.
Sandy Jo
MMM

·
Registered
2,919 Posts
Are you trying to get really solid coverage like you'd expect with regular textile ink? I imagine you can, if you just really load it up with ink to eliminate any gradient effects from the spray. Kind of like painting a car. If you don't mind a stiff print you could just as easily skip the airbrush and bust out the Krylon. If your frisket will hold tight enough to the fabric that will likely achieve the look you want.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I think it all depends on your technique more than anything. You are using vinyl and going to airbrush over it?