T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I'm new to the online T shirt biz; I'm struggling with tax-related issues when selling online, and after tons of research I still can't find a simple answer to understanding what i need to make my business legal. Hoping someone might provide a little clarity. Here are the deets:
I am based in North Carolina and I want to sell shirts online using Printify as my supplier. I intend to get a resale certificate from the state of North Carolina, which I will present to Printify, but after that it's all pretty vague.

Some info I've found suggests that I need a state-specific resale certificate for each state I sell to; but at this point I don't even know if I'll make a sale in each state. My interpretation of that, which may be wrong, is that I'd need to file with all 50 states if I were to do a nationwide advertising campaign. And then if I sell five shirts to customers in California, three shirts to customers in NY, and 2 shirts to customers in Florida, I'll need to file taxes in all of those states, while having wasted my time filing in the other 47 states where I didn't make any sales?

Since Printify serves as a drop shipper, it seems they will determine where the item is being shipped and thus how to charge tax, dependent on where I have tax nexus, but it all seems very vague.

Can anyone offer advice on how best to do this, or how you've set up your biz to sell across multiple states? Thanks in advance for any help!

·
Administrator
14,544 Posts
You don't need a certificate for every state. Only the one you're operating in (have a physical address, salespersons there, etc.).

But larger companies like Printify, Printful, Amazon, Ebay, Etsy, etc. collect sales tax in every state that requires it. So you'll need to adjust your selling price on your site to compensate for that.

Check this primer out by printful:

·
Registered
15 Posts
Hi all,