T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK.. I'll start from the top..

I have been screen printing for a couple of years now, only doing spot color set-ups. I have been wanting to get into higher end prints, simulated process and 4 color etc. I have no experience in these methods, so I am as green as it gets when it comes to these kinds of prints.

I have an opportunity for a large job to come in to our shop, and would like to not say "No, I can't print that.."

So.. I was wondering if anyone had some recommendations on a couple of things -

A printer - Epson? Any other brands that are reasonably priced, but will print post-script dot patterns for us to do process printing. I need large format printer, which will print separations at least 17x17 in size.

A separation program - I need something that will separate the artwork into the channels needed for 4 color and simulated process. I am currently using AI CS3 and PS CS3 - Can I do this with these programs, or does anyone recommend a separate software or plug-in?

Inks - I have read that I can use standard inks for simulated process prints, and of course the process inks for CMYK 4 Color, but is there any other inks I should look into to make this printing more streamlined, and less headache :)

Price Quote - I have been pricing only spot color designs, and am about clueless as to what kind of pricing goes into simulated process and 4 color process.

I am manual press facility, so we do everything by hand. Is there anything I should be mindful of about printing these methods manually?

I know there will be a learning curve when it comes to this type of printing, so any advice from the professionals that have been doing this for a while is so much appreciated.