T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I have had an idea for a clothing line that has been driving me crazy for the past few months. I just recently decided I need to go about starting it. I have a few questions as I am a rookie!

First, I was wondering about trademarking the name. I have the name I want but I also heard I should just go about purchasing the domain name first. I heard it offers some protection then you can worry about a trademark once you start making revenue.

Second, I am wondering about the domain names. Should I secure other names (ie. .org, .net, .co.uk, .ca etc.). Also what is the best webhosting site to go through? I am from Canada so it would have to allow me to purchase from here.

Third, I need to know what printing method is right for starting out. I have seen a cheap method using fabric wheels, fabric, mod podge, and fabric ink. Would this be ideal? If so, what type of fabric works best? What type of ink is best?

Last, but not least, Blank Tees. I need canvas for my art. I want to start out with some tees and hoodies. Possibly some sweats and shorts. Where is a good idea to order these?

Your help is greatly appreciated.
-Jason

· Registered
8 Posts
Hi Jason,

It is a good idea to purchase the web URL as soon as possible, and yes it is true that you don't need to secure a trademark initially. However, you might want to go on the the trademark website and do a simple search to see if your desired name is already taken - otherwise, you may just be wasting your time. Not sure what the site is for Canada, but for U.S. it is Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS). It can all be a pain in the butt, yet it's good protection in the long-run.

· Registered
10 Posts