T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking to start a SMALL online t-shirt company where i sell my own designs and slogans. I am wondering about several aspects of the creation process...

1) Artists: I am no artist, so I would like to outsource my ideas to a good designer. Mainly my designs will be either cartoonish or retro (like 50's era looking people). What should I expect to pay an artist to make an idea into a printable design? And where can I find such a designer? Is there a bidding site that includes artists (such as elance.com)? And what format should the artwork be in to be tshirt printed?

2) Manufacturing Process: I would like to start off small (maybe 20-30 designs times 10 per. Or more or less depending on printing requirements). I would like to keep low inventory and be able to print new ones quickly when needed. I assume this rules out overseas print shops? Would they require large orders with slow turn arounds? So my next option is online screen printers. Is that a good option for price and quality? Should I purchase the shirts or have the printer supply them? Which is cheaper? Can anyone compare the cost to have an online USA company supply and print the shirts compared to an overseas print shop do it? ANd how about the minimum order quantities?

3) Inventory & Size Requirements: Is there a general quideline as far as what sizes you should stock more of? Meaning what size is usually most popular? I am also wondering if I should offer womens styles?

4) Online Shopping Carts: Browsing some of these online t shirt companies, I see they have some really cool custom shopping cart programs that work perfect for selling tshirts. Are there any boxed software programs that work good for selling tshirts online? Can anyone supply some boxed software references or some custom software references?

Thanks
Tom

·
Registered
38 Posts