T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi guys this is my first post so hope ive put it in the right place......ok a couple of questions that im sure have been asked many times before..

1 can a good durable print be done with heat transfer.( i dont wanna make shirts that look like crap after a couple of washes).

2 am i right in thinking the procedure is simply create design print off and heat press on

3 why have i been up most the night watching you tube vids on heat transfer v silk screen printing.

and finally

can a good buisness be set up using just heat transfer printing..............

many thanks........

· Registered
637 Posts
Hey newbie... I'm a newbie too. On your first question about durability, are you talking about laser or inkjet transfers or all heat transfers?

I believe that screen printed transfers with the various ways... plastisol, water based, etc.. inks are the same durability as directly screen printed. As long as you do your part right.

I haven't tried the laser/inkjet methods because there are a LOT of people who have problems with these and on pretty much every post I've seen questioning durability against screened transfers they have less durable. I don't know this first hand because after reading all that I have decided for now to just avoid doing it myself until I figure it out.

2. See answer one. Also though... I suggest you print off about 5 shirts of different design and press and then test out yourself prior to selling anything. After you wash it 5 or 6 times then you'll either have confidence in what you're pressing or go back and fix what you were doing. Sometimes you're lucky and it turns out great without any error.