T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok guys i just recieved my first vinyl cutter.. the EXPERT 24.. i tried to set it up and it wasnt working for i started to search around and i found that they are pretty hard to install the drivers and everything for them. So then i started to just do some more research with vinyl cutters. When i purchased the expert 24 i guess i had the assumption that i would be able to print an image off my computer and then cut it out on the vinyl cutter. but i guess i can not do that with the expert 24..

so i was thinking about returning it and getting this one

34" NEW VINYL CUTTER PLOTTER Flexi 8 CONTOUR 24/25/36" - eBay (item 170481931298 end time May-14-10 13:41:36 PDT)

because it has the option for contour guess(i think thats the technical term for it)

what do you guys think? or is there some way to do this on the expert

·
Registered
261 Posts
im new to cutting but i understand that contour cutting is what you need for what you want to do.

·
Registered
22 Posts
If your really serious, get off E-Bay and get a reputable brand through a good distributor. Stahls will give free support by phone, as well as ryonet. T&J Screenprinting supplies is a great source if you are in midwest

·
Registered
183 Posts
you can contour cut with any vinyl cutter, however you need to manually line up the blade with the registration marks that you print with the document. For a vinyl cutter that doesn't specifically support contour cutting it will be very difficult to do, and if you want to do it on a regular basis then for a basic model look at the laserpoint from uscutter which has a laser dot to manually align the cut, or for a higher end model look at the zen cut or roland gx-24 which have an optic eye to automatically align the cut. (but cost more)

·
Registered
183 Posts