T-Shirt Forums
User Name
Password

Register Today For Free!

Forgot Your Password?

Site Navigation

+   T-Shirt Forums > T-Shirt Forums.com Announcements > T shirt Printing Issues
Having trouble making your T shirt? Post here

Issues with Screen Printing (Total Newbie)

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By TABOB

Share This Thread Thread Tools
Old January 8th, 2020 Jan 8, 2020 8:00:31 AM -   #1 (permalink)
Forum Member
T-Shirt Member

You can call me: Phil
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Red face Issues with Screen Printing (Total Newbie)

Okay so if you read my welcome message, I started a business about 2 months ago. No background in T shirt biz, but I love it as I'm learning. I have a 4 color manual table top screen printing machine. (as well as a Heatpress but that's irrelevant for this post)

So I have all the right tools ( I think) for Screen Print. I learned you can't do a good job without the right tools, like I tried using a mud pan to coat the emulsion on the screen...Nope didn't work. Bought a scoop coater and boom works like a charm. Researched and saw that burn times are important. Dialed it in to about 2 minutes 45 seconds, Though I still Get Janky Lines in my small text. (ugh)

I'm trying to screen print a few samples on some throwaway shirts and I keep "flooding" the screen wrong. Also, I think the plastisol ink is too viscous. Every time I flood the screen an excess amount of ink bleeds through the design and unto my shirt. UGH!

I don't think I'm using the right squeegee method either because I keep getting ink on the handle. So my questions are:

1) How do I burn the image crisply? I'm using a UV work light about a foot and a half above the surface where I lay the screen and the positive flat to burn the image. I know I just have to dial it in perfectly through trial and error, but do I "up" my burn time if the lines are coming out crisp? or "lower" my burn time?