Can expired emulsion still be used? - T-Shirt Forums

Hi, Unregistered. | Today's Posts

T-Shirt Forums
User Name
Password

Register Today For Free!

Forgot Your Password?

Site Navigation

+   T-Shirt Forums > T-Shirt Industry Information > Screen Printing > Plastisol Ink Screen Printing
Discuss the different plastisol screen printing inks and curing methods on the market. Share tips on getting the best results with the different ink manufacturers.

Can expired emulsion still be used?

Share This Thread Thread Tools
Old 2 Weeks Ago Jul 27, 2020 5:47:27 PM -   #1 (permalink)
Forum Member
T-Shirt Apprentice

You can call me: Joseph
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default Can expired emulsion still be used?

Hello, odd question. I know. But I I herited screen printing materials. I'm primarily practicing right now. The emulsion is about 3 years old, and very expired. But, can I use it?

I've tried so far. But I'm very new at this and my exposure times ranging from 3 minutes to 5 all tear up when I use the pressure washer to reveal the exposed design.

Now, I'm not sure if its me, or the emulsion. I'd like to use it, as it's good practice .

And if it's not the emulsion, WHY is my screen wiping out? I coat each side twice, let it dry over night 12-24 hours. Expose 3-5 minutes. And it years to heck when I wash out

I'm so exasperated.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 2 Weeks Ago Jul 27, 2020 8:29:57 PM -   #2 (permalink)
TSF Veteran
Certified T-Shirt Junkie

Mentioned: 26 Post(s)

Default Re: Can expired emulsion still be used?

To determine the correct exposure time, you should do a test, as much depends upon your light source and the particular emulsion you are using.