Why is my ink stringy - T-Shirt Forums

Hi, Unregistered. | Today's Posts

T-Shirt Forums
User Name
Password

Register Today For Free!

Forgot Your Password?

Site Navigation

+   T-Shirt Forums > T-Shirt Industry Information > Screen Printing > Plastisol Ink Screen Printing
Discuss the different plastisol screen printing inks and curing methods on the market. Share tips on getting the best results with the different ink manufacturers.

Why is my ink stringy

Share This Thread Thread Tools
Old April 10th, 2019 Apr 10, 2019 8:41:34 AM -   #1 (permalink)
Forum Member
T-Shirt Apprentice

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default Why is my ink stringy

Alright, I'm not a total noob here. Been screen printing for 10 years part time as part of a general graphics company. Rarely do I get stringy ink issues when using plastisol but this job has worked me over...

Printing with Lava Perfect White on 50/50 tees. I am getting strings of ink that look attached to various fibers in the tees. I have tried thinning the ink in different ways, even tried a few runs with zero thinning of the ink... no apparent difference. I tried 2 different brands of 50/50 tees with the same result, however it didn't appear to do it to cotton tees at all.

Considered static so printed at different times of day, thinking humidity might affect it. Didn't seem to change.... then tried throwing a lil silicone spray on it... no change.

Sorta stumped here. Is it a static issue? Ink brand, off contact....?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old April 10th, 2019 Apr 10, 2019 8:54:53 AM -   #2 (permalink)
Forum Member
T-Shirt Member

Default Re: Why is my ink stringy

This may be a dumb answer but I have used Lava on several runs and I found that I have to modulate the crap out of it (which I'm sure you have already done). Also once it starts getting warmer in my print shop I find it gets less stringy. Not sure if I helped at all but good luck and hope you find some answers!

Ferin