Blowouts and Emulsion Pealing - T-Shirt Forums

Hi, Unregistered. | Today's Posts

T-Shirt Forums
User Name
Password

Register Today For Free!

Forgot Your Password?

Site Navigation

+   T-Shirt Forums > T-Shirt Industry Information > Screen Printing > Plastisol Ink Screen Printing
Discuss the different plastisol screen printing inks and curing methods on the market. Share tips on getting the best results with the different ink manufacturers.

Blowouts and Emulsion Pealing

Like Tree3Likes

Share This Thread Thread Tools
Old April 13th, 2014 Apr 13, 2014 2:46:38 AM -   #1 (permalink)
Forum Member
T-Shirt Member

You can call me: Kevin
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Angry Blowouts and Emulsion Pealing

Hello guys,

I had a major issue this morning. Bear in mind I'm pretty new to doing this on my own.

I'm using Image Mate PC701 fast exposing emulsion and a 230 mesh screen. I use a light table that I removed the plexiglass film and fitted with 3 black light tubes. I successfully burned one design a few nights ago (cooked for about 2 minutes) and it washed out fine.

I don't have a "dark room" yet, so what I do is coat my screen(s) in my garage under a bug light at night. I then let them dry in complete dark and come back later the same night and burn it. Two nights ago I started coating pretty late and was getting tired. Instead of staying up to burn the screen after it dried, I put the screen on some blocks, print side down, inside of a cardboard box and taped it closed.

This morning I pulled the screen out of the box and set it to burn the stencil, using the previously established 2 minutes. I was burning some highly detailed (small print) neck tags with a 230 mesh screen.

When I went to lift the screen off the light table, I noticed the stencil film was stuck to the screen. I had large areas of the text and design wash out. In addition, the screen felt tacky and I was literally able to peal the emulsion away like skin after a sun burn.