T-Shirt Forums
User Name
Password

Register Today For Free!

Forgot Your Password?

Site Navigation

+   T-Shirt Forums > T-Shirt Industry Information > Embroidery

Embroidery Category Sponsor

Discuss the various aspects of embroidery decoration: stitchcount, DST files, digitizing, machinery, garment selection, etc.

Embroidery machine help -- first time buyer

Share This Thread Thread Tools
Old 4 Weeks Ago Jun 17, 2019 6:57:00 AM -   #1 (permalink)
Forum Member
T-Shirt Apprentice

You can call me: Annie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Smile Embroidery machine help -- first time buyer

Happy Monday! I am hoping for some assistance with an embroidery machine. I have been poking around the forums but I wanted to pose my own questions as I am looking for something particular.

I have NO experience with embroidery or with sewing in general, but my company sells customized/personalized home accessories. We have primarily been using a laser engraver on glass objects. We are hoping to launch some cloth items this year and I would love to be able to embroider them.

My primary concerns/specifics that are relevant are below:
--budget of [B]$15k[/B]

--we would like the capability to upload and [U][B]use our own font[/B][/U]

--we don't use design software now, as it is too complex and ends up taking more time for us to fulfill, instead we use Microsoft word (as most of our designs are simple text). Would love to learn how machines compare with respect to design software and if any are [B]compatible with Microsoft word. [/B]

--USB vs. direct print. It seems like the machines I'm looking at all require a step to put the design on a usb drive and then upload it into the machine. We're accustomed to [B]directly printing[/B] to our laser engraver--any way to avoid this extra step?