[DIY DTG] Should I invest in a DIY DTG printer? - T-Shirt Forums

Hi, Unregistered. | Today's Posts

T-Shirt Forums
User Name
Password

Register Today For Free!

Forgot Your Password?

Site Navigation

+   T-Shirt Forums > T-Shirt Industry Information > Direct to Garment (DTG) Inkjet Printing > DIY DTG
Discussion, tips, pictures, reviews and peer to peer support for those do it yourselfers who are working on building their own DTG machine.

[DIY DTG] Should I invest in a DIY DTG printer?

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By TABOB

Share This Thread Thread Tools
Old October 20th, 2018 Oct 20, 2018 7:32:39 AM -   #1 (permalink)
Forum Member
T-Shirt Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default Should I invest in a DIY DTG printer?

As part of a student project, i have started an online t-shirt store. I would like to buy a DTG printer as to bypass suppliers and increase margins. I'm a newbie to the business.

Since I have a budget of ~3000$, I can only afford a DIY DTG printer. I am however of unsure of how prohibitive the loss in quality, durability and reliability would be.

Should I go along this path and invest in a DIY DTG printer?

I should add a few details:
–I don't intend to print many T-shirts, at most a couple dozens per week.
–I have never done any DIY project and I'm not the craftiest person around. I am however an engineering student (I don't know if it would prove to be helpful in building the printer).
–I want to print on both light and dark garments. I want to be able to print multi-colored designs with a good resolution.

Thanks in advance for your responses!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old October 20th, 2018 Oct 20, 2018 8:28:21 AM -   #2 (permalink)
T-Shirt Mogul

You can call me: Bob
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)

Default Re: Should I invest in a DIY DTG printer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tyutyut42
I have never done any DIY project and I'm not the craftiest person around.
You can buy a ready made, Epson p600 based one, from OpenDTG.