[Brother GT-381] White is not printing white on black shirt - T-Shirt Forums

Hi, Unregistered. | Today's Posts

T-Shirt Forums
User Name
Password

Register Today For Free!

Forgot Your Password?

Site Navigation

+   T-Shirt Forums > T-Shirt Industry Information > Direct to Garment (DTG) Inkjet Printing > Brother
Discussion, tips, pictures, reviews and peer to peer support for current and future Brother GT-541 and Brother GT-782 DTG owners.

[Brother GT-381] White is not printing white on black shirt

Share This Thread Thread Tools
Old September 25th, 2014 Sep 25, 2014 12:43:23 PM -   #1 (permalink)
Forum Member
Be nice, this is my first post :)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default White is not printing white on black shirt

Hi, I am very new to dtg printing and actually have very little graphics experience.

I am trying to print a white print onto steel gray, navy and black t shirts. My navy and steel gray t shirts print great and the white print is very white and clear. When I try to print it onto the black t shirt it comes out grey/faded looking.

I have checked that my pure whites are converted to 254.

The t shirts are 100% cotton. I have tried 180gm and 200gm black t shirts but haven't noticed much difference.

I am using the brother pretreatment at 30gms. I have tried increasing this on the black t shirt but again it will not print out white like on the navy t shirt.

Can anyone shed some light onto this or please let me know what settings you use when printing white prints onto black t shirts.

Also when printing a coloured print onto a hoodie the prints are very faded looking (I guess due to the different fabric in a hoodie than a t shirt). What settings do you change your t shirt print to in order to print onto a hoodie?

I am at a loss and ready to give up on white prints.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old September 25th, 2014 Sep 25, 2014 12:52:21 PM -   #2 (permalink)
T-Shirt Lover
T-Shirt Aficionado

You can call me: Jim