T-Shirt Forums banner

starting shirt printing business SERIOUSLY

[PHILIPPINES] -  
37K views 31 replies 16 participants last post by  zelleartsign 
#1 ·
Hi.. before anything else, let me provide you few information about myself.

I started printing shirts 2 years ago as a hobby. At some time, I tried to accept orders and sold more or less 700pcs, which is already good for me considering that I originally didn't intend to provide the services at a large scale. Moreover, I am still a student who do not have that enough time to engage in this business. However, things changed and I think it is about time to take this seriously.

I have the following machines:
1. Heat press machine
2. Cutter plotter which i also used in making car stickers, and
3. Of course, pigment and sublimation ink printers

Most of the shirts ordered were made up of vinyls and gamuza. Problem is, I could have taken more orders if not of the limited designs i can make with vinyls. Recently, i told my father about my plan of putting up this business. He asked me if I want a DTG printer, but only a China brand. Now, I'm having a problem deciding whether we should invest on a DTG printer or silkscreen instead. I need to decide asap as he is currently in China, and wants to buy the DTG direct from there.

Problem with silk screen is that I tried it many times yet I failed. I'm really having a hard time trying to learn that photo emulsion through the internet. Also, I consider the fact that it is only me and my brother who prints the shirt. If I will go with silkscreen printing, i think there is already a need to employ a helper. If you are in my position, what will you do to start with this business?

See less See more
#2 ·
Welcome po.

I will just advise you sir to think seriously and research more about DTG. Importing the machine here in our country means bigbucks or expensive before you can engage it into operations...